Sep 30, 2020  
2016-2017 Undergraduate Catalog 
2016-2017 Undergraduate Catalog [Archived Catalog]

Chemistry Department

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Colleges/Schools, Departments & Programs

Andrew G. Sykes, Chair
Churchill Haines, Room 115
(605) 677-5487  



Mary Berry, Physical Chemistry
James Hoefelmeyer, Inorganic Chemistry
Ranjit Koodali, Physical Chemistry
Miles Koppang, Analytical Chemistry
Stanley May, Physical Chemistry
Grigoriy Sereda, Organic Chemistry
Andrew Sykes, Inorganic Chemistry

Associate Professors:

David Hawkinson, Organic Chemistry
Chaoyang Jiang, Analytical, Materials Chemistry
Haoran Sun, Organic Chemistry
Joseph Vitt, Analytical Chemistry
Z. Rick Wang, Inorganic Chemistry


Kadarkaraisamy “Kadal” Mariappan, Inorganic Chemistry


American Chemical Society (ACS) Approved Degree, B.S.

Chemistry Coordinate Degree, B.S.



The Department of Chemistry at USD strives to promote the highest level of scholarship in both its undergraduate and graduate programs. We are proud of the demonstrated success of our graduates, which includes high rates of acceptance into top-ranked graduate and professional programs.  Several of our majors have been awarded prestigious Goldwater Scholarships and National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowships to support further study.

Chemistry majors follow one of two paths toward the Bachelor’s degree in chemistry. The first is approved by the American Chemical Society (ACS), and is intended for students interested in employment as a chemist or graduate study in chemistry. The ACS major provides a solid background in chemistry, physics, and math, and prepares the student for work as a professional chemist. The coordinate major is designed for students who anticipate going to medical school or some other professional school, but would like to major in chemistry. The coordinate major provides more flexibility to take non-chemistry courses recommended by professional schools and the chemistry coursework can be completed in three years.  


(For more detailed information, please contact the Chemistry Office or visit our web site)

  • General Lloyd R. Moses Research Awards
  • The Selma Elizabeth Anderson Memorial Scholarship
  • Thomas Beukelman Memorial Scholarship
  • Arthur Lee Haines Scholarship
  • Arthur M. & John M. Pardee Chemistry Prize
  • Chemistry Department Endowed Scholarship
  • M. Robert Stoner Research Scholarship
  • John Bryant Dunlap Scholarship
  • Helmer A. Hovik USD Scholarship
  • Dr. Joseph R. Spies Chemistry Scholarship
  • Robert A Ackerman Scholarship



Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Colleges/Schools, Departments & Programs