Jul 05, 2022  
2017-2018 Undergraduate Catalog 
2017-2018 Undergraduate Catalog [Archived Catalog]

Criminal Justice Program

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Colleges/Schools, Departments & Programs

Sandy McKeown, Program Director
Dakota Hall, Room 117
(605) 677-5706




Michael Roche, Criminal Law, Criminal Procedure, Law and Society, Justice and Compassion

Associate Professor:

Sandy McKeown, Juvenile Justice, Ethics in Criminal Justice, Writing and Research in Criminal Justice, Mock Trial, Criminal Prosecution and Defense

Assistant Professor:

Bridget Diamond-Welch, Criminology; Family Violence; Race, Class, and Gender; Sexual Assault; and Victimology


Josh Houy, American Politics, Constitutional Law, and Criminal Justice Policy


Terryl Cadwell, Criminal Justice
Kevin Heineman, Criminal Investigation
Connie Nelsen, Counseling and Rehabilitation


Criminal Justice, B.A., B.S.


Criminal Justice

The Criminal Justice Studies program is an interdisciplinary study of crime and justice in our society. Criminal Justice Studies emphasizes the key components of police, courts, corrections, and juvenile justice in the criminal justice processes of our local, state, and federal governments. Beyond the basic required courses, students can pursue advanced courses in many areas, including the historical, international, social science, and legal facets of criminal justice studies.

As a unit within the College of Arts and Sciences, the Criminal Justice Studies program at the University of South Dakota has a primary objective to provide instruction that will foster liberal arts and sciences education. Within this context, the program attempts to realize four major objectives:

  1. To provide qualified personnel for all segments of the criminal justice system, as well as many related agencies of government;

  2. To improve the competencies and professional status of existing criminal justice personnel, as well as provide research and educational assistance to criminal justice agencies;

  3. To build a foundation for responsible citizenship by creating a better public understanding of the criminal justice system wherein the great questions of the relationship of the individual to the state are most intensely presented; and,

  4. To provide a sound basic education in criminal justice for graduates who choose to pursue masters, doctoral, and law degrees after graduation. 


Please note that the Farber Fund also provides over $140,000 available annually for Criminal Justice/Political Science majors to attend conferences, participate in faculty-led programs and departmental trips, complete internships, travel abroad, and carry out research. See http://www.usd.edu/arts-and-sciences/criminal-justice/scholarships

Please contact the department for additional information about available scholarships and awards. Also see College of Arts & Sciences  for college/school level scholarships.

Our department prides itself on the number and quality of awards given out each year to qualified students:

  • Alan L. & Mary L. Clem Scholarship
  • Blair Tremere Political Science
  • Brian & Kelly Wirt Scholarship/Fellowship
  • Clarence E. & Sophia F. Fowler Scholarship
  • Clarence Eide Endowment-Sue Eide Kimball Criminal Justice Scholarship
  • Clyde Saukerson Honors Program Scholarship
  • Criminal Justice Department
  • Daniel M.&L’Nora L. Bylander Political Science Scholarship
  • Dee Jones Noordermeer Memorial Scholarship
  • Diane Jones Meier Award
  • Donald D. Fowler Scholarship-Political Science
  • Dorothy C. Schieffer Scholarship
  • Dr. Samuel C. & Suzanne L. Patterson Political Science Scholarship
  • Farber  #3: William O. Farber Scholarship
  • Farber  No. 2
  • Farber Center Foundation Account
  • Francis J. Dillon Political Science
  • Frank L. “Jeff” Scott Memorial Scholarship
  • Fraternal Order of Police Scholarship
  • Gene Kimmel Award
  • Gene Mahan Memorial Scholarship in Good Government
  • George & Bette Glover Scholarship
  • Hall Scholarship
  • Heartland Political Sciences Scholarship Fund
  • Jody M. Endres Scholarship 
  • Joel & Kari Portice Family Political Science Scholarship
  • Joel Rosenthal Award
  • John H. Wicks Political Science Scholarship
  • Larry Pressler Scholarship
  • Loren M. Carlson Memorial Scholarship
  • MacDonald Political Science Scholarship
  • Mary B. Edelen Student Internship Award
  • Mary Pat Bierle Scholarship
  • Oneta H. Card Memorial Scholarship
  • Philip T. Roche Service to Others Award
  • Political Science Fund
  • Robert D. Falk Award
  • South Dakota Sheriff’s Association Scholarship
  • Stephen R. & Mary Lynn Myers Scholarship
  • Thomas J. Whorley Political Science Scholarship
  • William J. Janklow Public Service Scholarship
  • WO Farber Internship & Travel Scholarship


Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Colleges/Schools, Departments & Programs