Jun 24, 2024  
2015-2016 Undergraduate catalog 
2015-2016 Undergraduate catalog [Archived Catalog]

Media & Journalism Department

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Colleges/Schools, Departments & Programs

Michelle Van Maanen, Chairperson
Al Neuharth Media Center
(605) 677-5477




Charles Lubbers, Strategic Communication

Assistant Professors:

Teddi Joyce, Strategic Communication
Brandon Nutting, Strategic Communication
Michelle Van Maanen, Journalism/Strategic Communication


Janet Davison, Journalism
Gary Larson, Digital Media


Todd Mechling, Journalism/Strategic Communication

Journalist in Residence:

Chuck Baldwin, Journalism


Media & Journalism, B.A., B.S.


Journalism (Journalism/TV/Radio/Digital Media)
Strategic Communication (Advertising/Public Relations/Digital Media)


Media & Journalism
Social Media Marketing

The Department of Media & Journalism prepares students for careers in both traditional and new media. The department seeks to 1) provide students with the necessary skills to compete for entry-level positions; 2) offer principles and strategy courses that enhance the students’ prospects for later career progression to management and leadership; and 3) develop student understanding of the role of mass media in society. In addition to teaching in two specialization areas, the department operates the campus radio station, cable television station, a multiplatform news operation and a student advertising/public relations agency. It also benefits from its location in the Al Neuharth Media Center and the presence of The Volante campus newspaper and South Dakota Public Broadcasting on the campus. The instruction is also enhanced by the activities of student chapters of the American Advertising Federation, Public Relations Student Society of America, and the Society of Professional Journalists.


  • Al Neuharth Excellence in Journalism Scholarship
  • Publication Board (students from all majors are eligible, but they must be active in student media)
  • Paul Friggens Memorial Scholarship
  • Jim Burt Memorial Scholarship
  • Barbara Berggren Steward Memorial Scholarship
  • Joseph L. Floyd Memorial Scholarship
  • E.G. Trotzig Memorial Scholarship
  • Marjorie Burns Shanard Scholarship
  • Norma Lewis Brown Scholarship


Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Colleges/Schools, Departments & Programs