Jul 04, 2022  
2017-2018 Undergraduate Catalog 
2017-2018 Undergraduate Catalog [Archived Catalog]

Dental Hygiene Department

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Colleges/Schools, Departments & Programs

Ann Brunick, Chairperson
East Hall, Room 120
(605) 677-5379




Ann Brunick, Clinical Dental Hygiene
Beverly Kennedy, Clinical Dental Hygiene
Robert Nelson, Emeritus
Debralee Nelson, Emeritus

Senior Lecturers:

Martha Pollard, Clinical Dental Hygiene 


Molly Molencamp, Clinical Dental Hygiene
Erik Mutterer, Clinical Dental Hygiene
Carissa Regnerus, Clinical Dental Hygiene
Graham Smith, Clinical Supervising Dentist
Katie Williams, Clinical Dental Hygiene


JoNell Bly, Clinical Dental Hygiene
Darlene Bogenpohl, Clinical Dental Hygiene
Kerri Johnston, Clinical Dental Hygiene
Ashleigh Lingo, Clinical Dental Hygiene
Martha Steil, Clinical Dental Hygiene


Dental Hygiene, B.S.

The University of South Dakota Department of Dental Hygiene provides a high quality undergraduate professional education leading to a Bachelor of Science degree in Dental Hygiene. The Dental Hygiene Department serves as a dental health resource for the State of South Dakota. Graduates of the program are professional, competent dental hygienists who are dedicated to improving the health of the public.

Dental Hygiene, A.S. to B.S.

This baccalaureate degree pathway is designed to assist individuals who have graduated with an Associate’s Degree in Dental Hygiene, or who are currently enrolled, in any dental hygiene program in the United States that is accredited by the ADA Commission on Dental Accreditation (CODA) to earn a Bachelor of Science degree from the University of South Dakota. This pathway does not impact or replace the traditional B.S. degree in Dental Hygiene that has been offered at USD for many years. Applicants to this program must show enrollment in or graduation from a CODA-accredited dental hygiene program. Graduation from USD with a Bachelor’s Degree is contingent upon satisfactory completion of all B.S. degree requirements plus an A.S. degree from the CODA-accredited dental hygiene program.


Please contact the department for additional information about available scholarships and awards. Also see School of Health Sciences  for school level scholarships.

  • Dental Hygiene Scholarship
  • Dental Hygiene-Independent Scholarship
  • Dorothy Francis Yeoman Memorial Scholarship
  • Dr. Darrell R. & Gretchen Ludeman Scholarship
  • Dr. Scott Velgersdyk Dental Hygiene Scholarship
  • Jean Jerlow Haak Scholarship
  • John & Shelly Aesoph Dental Hygiene Scholarship
  • Lonna Wallway Jones Dental Hygiene Scholarship
  • Lulu B. Wheeler-Dental Hygiene Scholarship
  • Sarah Dennis Memorial Scholarship
  • Scott & Julia Jones Leadership Scholarship
  • Shelly & John Aesoph Dental Hygiene Scholarship




Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Colleges/Schools, Departments & Programs